The Return of Rocinante


As I mentioned previously, this past weekend I had to put down my road bike after she broke a leg. She was a good and faithful steed, lo these many years, and it was with a heavy heart that I said goodbye. But alas, the work of a Knight Errant goes on, and as a chivalrous servant of Dulcinea del 20 Prospect I cannot be without a sturdy mount for my adventures. And so I am proud to announce the return of Rocinante.

Rocinante

Rocinante

He is a fine and noble beast. And is resplendant in his new Open Pro wheels. Sure, he is a bit large for me, but his size is matched by his gentleness. (And a quick adjustment to the stem wouldn’t hurt either)

I particularly like the relaxed head tube angle, as seen in this photo…

Relaxed Head Tube Angle for Epic Rides

Relaxed Head Tube Angle for Epic Rides

The stoutness of his frame is impressive, and riding him on Sunday evening brought back sweet memories of my epic races against the toughest CAT 5 competition that Minnesota had to offer…

CAT 5 racer on the attack!

CAT 5 racer on the attack!

As intimidating as the terrain, and competition was around here in the late 90’s, it was never a match for the skills of a Knight Errant, and the brave heart of my Rocinante!

Ready to handle the attacks of foul traders from Toledo

Ready to handle the attacks of foul traders from Toledo

Oh, fair Dulcinea of 20 Prospect! I have regained my trusted steed Rocinante! Do not fear, I am coming to rescue you and win your hand dear maiden!

One thought on “The Return of Rocinante

  1. Pingback: Spring Classic « 20 Prospect

Leave a Reply

