Another sortie into enemy territory


I’m beat tonight. It’s been one week to the day that I landed in England, and I can say I have had enough. Today was a long road trip with sales, up into the Netherlands, over into Dusseldorf, Germany and back. Tomorrow, another one to Bonn, Germany this time. You know you’ve been to Europe too many times when you start giving directions to the locals. Today was the 3rd time this trip that I ended up navigating. I think it’s a sign that its time to put my feet up on the front porch and stay where I belong.

Another sign you’ve had enough is when all of the culinary delights of Leuven are at your disposal, and you decided to pick up a sub sandwich and a can of Jupiler and head back to the hotel room. The fact is I have not been sleeping, and it is wearing me down. Too many places, too many faces, too many stories, I cannot shut my mind down at 10 o’clock and fall asleep.

But enough whining! Boo hoo, my job makes me go to Europe and travel around and eat good food, and drink good beer. My God, how do you all put up with me?

So here’ s some pictures from Sunday, which I spent with a friend of mine. We drove over to Waterloo to do the tourist thing at the battlefield, and then went back to his house for dinner. Enjoy…

The Memorial Mound in Waterloo

The Memorial Mound in Waterloo

La Haie Sainte Farm at the center of the British Line, as seen from the top

La Haie Sainte Farm at the center of the British Line, as seen from the top

The village of Meldert

The village of Meldert

The village Church

The village Church

cows at sunset

cows at sunset

Leave a Reply

