Land of 10,000 Hits


800px-Minnesota_license_plate_2008

 

20 Prospect reached a milestone yesterday. We welcomed our 10,000th visitor to this front porch. Well, in web speak, it was the 10,000th “hit” to this humble little blog, which could mean several things. Either the 10 people that read these musings like have an itchy trigger finger, or several thousand unsuspecting souls followed this little off ramp down from the internet, stopped for a second, looked around, harrumphed and pulled back up onto the information super highway spraying dust and gravel all over the front steps. The hell with ‘em I say!

10,000 is 10,000 and I’m calling it a milestone and a great excuse to gaze at my navel again. I have to say I sure have enjoyed the chance to foist my half formed thoughts and ramblings onto an unsuspecting world. When I started this web-log thingy, I had no idea where it was going to take me. It had been 15 years since I kept a journal on a regular basis, and the thought of cutting open a vein 5 days a week in front of God and country was simultaneously thrilling, and intimidating. What would I write about? I didn’t want to create yet another website devoted to telling the world what the author had for lunch. So instead, I created a site devoted to telling the world what the author had for lunch one afternoon in 1988.

I must say, it was a damn fine lunch. Seriously though, I had no idea if anyone would find 20 Prospect, much less read it, so I have to say I am truly humbled to have had you here on my porch to visit. I hope I can continue to find new and embarrassing things to write about on this blog, and I hope you all continue to come by to read them. Further proof that with a world of information at our fingertips, we can still piss away the afternoon slacking on the front porch. And if that doesn’t inspire hope for the future of our civilization, I’m not sure what will.

One thought on “Land of 10,000 Hits

Leave a Reply

