Optima dies…prima fugit


The best days…are the first to flee – Virgil

No, I haven’t been reading Virgil in the original Latin. I haven’t even been reading him in the unorignal latin. I just came across that quote in a book by Willa Cather, and it seemed like it could be a motto for this site. Maybe I’ll place it in the banner head.

Yes, it may sometimes seem like I spend all my time looking into the past. Don’t be fooled. It’s just the easiest thing for me to write about. The present is too near, and real sometimes to be written about. You can’t paint a landscape when you are standing in the scenery. There has to be a certain distance to provide perspective.

Having a game of catch in the golden hour last night with 20 Prospect Jr. brought the realization that life moves in circles. We pass the same point many times, but see it through different eyes. Our game of catch in the slanting rays of the setting sun was seen by him through the eyes of a 9 year old, when each day seems to spill over the top of the cup with events, and potential. Don’t let the sun set! I’m not done playing!

Through my 41 year old eyes, those golden beams took on an entirely different perspective. I was savoring each throw, each pink contrail in the blue sky above, the white bellies of the gulls swirling up from the lake at the bottom of the hill, holding that moment for as long as I could. It’s worth to me at 41 is so much better understood than at age 9, when a whole lifetime of days stretch out before you. I wonder how I will feel when I circle past in another 20 years.

Leave a Reply

