Rain, rain, go away…


Rain pours  from the dishwater gray sky, washing the gutters clean, and baptizing us into the church of summer. The cars leave comet tails of spray behind them as they pass, and I can’t help but sigh. It is so hard to motivate on days like this. I would like nothing better than to roll over and go back to bed, but duty and my Dark Corporate overlords are calling.

It’s been a long week, and my energy is starting to ebb. Tonight the boy and I are scheduled to go see the Twins take on the Braves, but it’s looking less and less likely. Who’s idea was it to build an outdoor baseball stadium again? I’m kidding of course. I’d still rather bring the rain poncho along to a game, than sit under the Teflon roof.

But the Twins game is just the beginning of a baseball soaked weekend, and looking at the weather forecast, perhaps a soaked baseball weekend. 20 Prospect Jr. and his Cub teammates are taking part in a tournament this weekend. As any little league parent can attest, these things take up a whole bleeping weekend.

Here’s the ballpark where we’ll be spending our weekend, weather permitting. Not quite Target Field, but still nicer than Oakland Alameda County Coliseum.

Casey at the bat

Funny, but I don’t ever remember youth sports being more than a one or two hour activity when I was a kid. I really would like to know at what point our society decided that organized youth sports should take on such epic proportions. As much as I love watching the boy play baseball, and as thrilled as I get when he pitches a 1-2-3 inning, or smacks a line drive through the gap, I know that it’s just a kids game and I won’t be sitting in the stands at Target Field in 12 years watching him make his debut in “the show”. Neither will I be watching 99.999% of these kids.

20 Prospect Jr., warming up just like he saw Justin Morneau do it...

For all the ridiculous importance, and organization that we are putting into youth sports, it’s still a kids game, and I’d be just as happy to see them out in the backyard tossing a wiffle ball. When I look back on my own life it was those moments of football games in the street, wiffle ball on 20 Prospect Field, or softball in Centennial Park that I remember most. Yeah, I enjoyed my days kicking soccer balls around the fields of GCC or playing Pop Warner football in the outfield of Dwyer Stadium, but those memories fall well below my memories of paying catch in the street until it became too dark to see the ball anymore.

Leave a Reply

