Is this Heaven?


Photo Copyright - The Des Moines Register

No, it’s Iowa.

For the 2nd year in a row I will celebrate Father’s Day in the great state of Iowa. One of my favorite states that begins with the letter I. Well, top 5 anyway.

20 Prospect Jr. and I will be attending the Iowa Corn 250, Indycar race at Iowa speedway. It’s a beautiful little 7/8 mile track in the middle of a cornfield in Newtown, Iowa. This will be our second year in a row for attending this race. They really put on a good show, and the entire facility is sparkling clean, and family friendly. Unlike the stereotypical NASCAR-Billy Bob’s, I have found that IndyCar fans typically sport IQ’s in the triple digits, and a full set of teeth.

Iowa Speedway


It seems like an odd place to build a race track. Apparently Rusty Wallace was standing in a cornfield in Newton when a voice spoke to him saying “If you build it they will come.” So he built the track in a natural bowl, with 40,000 seats, all of which offer views of the entire race track. There really isn’t a bad seat in the house. And they serve Maid Rite’s. What more could you want?

This year Mrs. 20 Prospect and Lil’ Miss 20 Prospect will be joining us on the trip and we will be visiting some old friends in Winterset, the county seat of Madison County don’t cha know. Home of the covered bridges of Madison County, one of Iowa’s top 5 tourist attractions. Right up there with the Field of Dreams, Amana Colonies, Pella, and the I-80 Truck Stop in Walcott. That’s some elite company!

Madison County Bridge


Iowan’s take a lot of grief from folks in surrounding states, but I have to say, Iowan’s are some of the nicest, most sincere people I have met in my travels. And they take the gentle ribbing in good spirits for the most part. I have often thought that someday when I decide to retire, I would look for a place along the Mississippi River bluffs over in the Northeast corner of the state. (The part known as the Lutheran Triangle. ) Cheap living, good folks, and beautiful country, a person could do a lot worse than spending their twilight years in Iowa.

2 thoughts on “Is this Heaven?

    • The place I need to get back to is Kentucky. I haven’t been there in over 10 years now. We have a plant in Nicholasville, just south of Lexington, right in the middle of horse country. Some of the most beautiful and pastoral farms, and country roads I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

