The Verdict is in…


Another week has dawned here at 20 Prospect, tart and crisp as a fresh apple. After a long dark night of the soul this weekend, I have reached a conclusion about the future of this blog.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

(Pause for added suspense)

.

.

.

.

Based on the feedback from several of you, I have decided to continue, but with a slightly different focus. (Which is to say, it will actually have a focus) Also, I lied about the long dark night of the soul. I pretty much spent the weekend doing the usual stuff.

So what does any of that mean? Well, here’s what I am going to do. I am throwing down the gauntlet by stating in advance what you can expect. (Actually, I am not throwing any gauntlets. I don’t actually own a gauntlet, and if I did I probably wouldn’t go around throwing it down unless I was really upset or something.)

I am going to continue blogging here at 20 Prospect, but in the future my blogs will tend more toward personal stories of my checkered past. (as if!) I thought about this, and based on the feedback I have received this is the part of the blog that regular readers enjoy most. I have to confess, these are also the ones that mean the most to me. This blog will never draw a lot of traffic, but who wants traffic on their street anyway? This blog has never been about traffic. It’s about sitting on the front porch spinning stories. So that’s what I am going to continue to do.

However, these types of personal story posts are also the ones that take the most thought, and effort. (Funny how that works) So I may be posting a little less frequently. Not sure what that means, but for starters it might just be Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. In theory, the drop in quantity will be compensated by an improvement in quality. (You’ll have to let me know if it works)

So in the future I will continue donning the deep sea diver suit, and heading back down to the floor of the sea of memory. Let’s go see what treasure I can find.

Farm Security Administration - 1944 - Office of War Information Photograph Collection (Library of Congress)

3 thoughts on “The Verdict is in…

  1. Let it rip. There is nothing more wildly freeing than airing the laundry on a clear and windy day.
    Also, I too had a delightfully suffocating Catholic school education in upstate New York.
    Rockland County to be exact.

  2. Rockland County. Wow, that’s like practically in NYC. Guilty Confession: Despite living in New York State for 22 years, and having family there, I have never actually set foot in any of the 5 boroughs. (Changing planes at Laguardia doesn’t count)

    At first it was just because, well $$$$. Now it’s more a matter of principal. Kind of like refusing to watch Titanic just because everyone else did.

    • I can take New York in small doses now.
      Recently hopped the train from here in DC to BLogHer where thousands of unhinged lady bloggers got drunk, destroyed property and generally acted like rock stars.
      I went a little rogue and threw that flaming television out the 13th story window but it wasn’t as cool as I thought it would be.
      Lessons learned.

Leave a Reply

