Space Weather Outlook


Just thought I would pass along this public service announcement….

There are NO SPACE WEATHER STORMS expected this week.

As my bored to tears friends and coworkers will attest, I possess an encyclopedic knowledge of useless information. I can’t remember where I left my sunglasses, or the name of my brother in law’s youngest child, but damned if I can’t quote you the shortest verse in the Bible.

(Jesus wept.)

That said, I had no idea there was such a thing as space weather until I came across this government email alert this summer when searching for information about the Northern Lights. How come they don’t give Space Weather forecasts on the local news? What if we get bombarded by meteors, or kryptonite, or something?

As soon as I discovered that space storms existed, I felt that it was imperative that I be forewarned about them. I mean, really, as a husband and father of two I would be irresponsible if I let them leave the house for school unprepared for a space blizzard.

So now I get a weekly email update on the Space Weather Forecast, and I sleep much better at night.

Yes, I am really this neurotic

So, we can all relax this week. CODE GREEN. PLEASE GO ABOUT YOUR NORMAL ROUTINE.

From: SWPC Product Subscription Service [mailto:SWPC.Products@noaa.gov]
Sent: Tuesday, October 12, 2010 1:05 PM
To: Mr. 20 Prospect
Subject: Space Weather Outlook

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Weather Prediction Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA
SPACE WEATHER ADVISORY OUTLOOK #10- 41
2010 October 12 at 11:57 a.m. MDT (2010 October 12 1757 UTC)
**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****
Summary For October 4-10
No space weather storms were observed.
Outlook For October 13-19
No space weather storms are expected.
Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services 
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. More 
information is available at SWPC's Web site http://swpc.noaa.gov
2 thoughts on “Space Weather Outlook

  1. Screw the space storm. I’ve been on the look out for the most epic tidal wave that ever was.
    I know this because of an obscure educational special about the Canary Islands that informed me that like 75% of one of the huge mountains there is on the verge of falling into the ocean.
    When that happens a four million foot killer wave is going to crash into the east coast.
    You are welcome.

    • Super Tidal Wave! Ahhhh!!! Good thing I moved to Minnesota.

      Of course that won’t save me from the killer Yellowstone Super Volcano!

      We watch way too much cable TV.

Leave a Reply

