Break Up Songs


Lord knows I have spent a ton of digital ink documenting the trials and trivialities of my adolescent love life. So why the hell should I worry about wasting a little more?

Give the people what they want.

So, as I have said before, when faced with writers block, or laziness, a blogger’s best friend is the “Top Ten” list. It’s a snappy little template that I have turned to time and time again. The only trick is coming up with a topic.

So for lack of a better topic, here are the Top Break Up songs, as lived by me. This is a personal list. These are not the top break up songs of all time, or even good songs. They are just the songs tied to different girls in these stories of mine.

This is in no way a reflection, or an editorial, on the fine upstanding characters of any of these girls. In fact, listening to them now, I’m not sure what, if anything, they have to do with breaking up. These are just the songs that lodged in my brain as I was trying to get these various girls off of my mind, by thinking of them non stop naturally.

To this day, I can’t hear one of these without thinking of each of them. The brain is a funny thing.

Jung, and Freud can do with it what they will…

Marianne – The Boxer – Simon and Garfunkel

Jennifer – Total Eclipse of the Heart – Bonnie Tyler

Kelly – Your wildest dreams – Moody Blues

Lori – There is a Light that Never Goes Out – The Smiths

Marie – She’s Got a New Spell – Billy Bragg

Yellowstone Sue – Losing my Religion – REM

There is no #1. Thank god I finally found Mrs. 20 Prospect and saved my soul from an eternity of suffering. As I have said before, if you are married, you can most likely look back on your life and say that over 90% of all of your relationships ended up with a break up. Figure in that the divorce rate hovers around 50% and you can understand why people drink.

Love stinks.

Yeah, yeah.

But imagine how dull life would be without such beautiful agony.

So what are your wonderful little break up songs that always pluck your heart strings?

23 thoughts on “Break Up Songs

  1. Holy shit — Total Eclipse of the Heart makes me want to break up with someone! Have you seen the Literal Video Version of that song? Hilarious! Maybe it will uncondition your mind:

    I remember one break up where I listened to Van Halen’s Dreams repeatedly. I still love that song though. In fact, today feels like a great day to rock some Van Halen.

  2. I am such a huge lover of all things music, I never wanted a guy to ruin a song for me. In an effort to keep this from happening, I would consciously not allow the association of guys with songs. The one exception is the saddest, being a funeral, wherein a particularly young friend had passed away and someone with terrible foresight had decided the friends should be in charge of the music as the casket was carried out. So, now, I am totally reduced to a crying wreck the second this song begins to play. Thankfully, it’s not exactly a classic, but sometimes, at the most random moments, it will come on…..and there I go….

  3. I’ve had the memories of break-ups chemically erased from my brain.

    But songs that signify the times in my life that I have been alone…PLENTY of those.

    But I did date a guy who’s name was Jesse (J-Hole, Douchebag #2) and everytime I showed up to bartend the DJ would play Rick Springfields “Jesse’s Girl” and now my high school crush on Rick is forever RUINED.

    • GAH!!!!!!!! I hated that song!

      Songs about feeling lonely is a hole other post. Man, I’ve got tons of morose songs that would make a person want to climb into a tub of warm water and slit their wrists. I’ve always been one of those people that LOVES to feel miserable, and sorry for themselves. It makes me happy.

  4. I wanted to write a post about this – the other day, in the car, I managed to get through about 4 songs in a row, all reminding me of exes/break-ups.

    Some much worse than others.

    But in all honesty, I think the Boyfriend would be weirded out by it. And his family reads my blog (um… yay.). He likes to not know any names or history.

    Maybe I can just write a list without names. But that would be pretty boring.

    Fuck it, I’ll just privately journal it. (no fun).

    • That’s a bummer. My in laws, and wife read my blog too, and seem to have accepted the fact that I write posts about my lost teenage loves, so I’m lucky I guess.

      (Hi Mrs. 20Prospect, and her family!!!)

      If you’d like you can post it here where no one knows who you are. I’ve found that my group of 300 lb serial killers, um… I mean commenters, and pretty accepting.

    • Sadly, no. I also looked for a song that said “Give me back my God Damned Microwave” but didn’t have any luck with that one either.

  5. It is not a secret that I have no good taste in music. So my selections are straight from the late night informercials: Fools Rush In was my Go To song when I needed to croon it out at a karaoke. I can also sing The End of the World and cry at the same time. But that’s about it… (The others are Chinese pop songs…)

Leave a Reply

