Superior Sunrise


It’s spring break for 20 Prospect Jr and Lil’ Miss 20 Prospect, so like all Minnesota families do in March, we headed to a beach.

OK, the sane ones go south. We went North to Lake Superior for a few days of wilderness and big water. This is one of my favorite places in the world. From the ore docks, lift bridge and lake freighters of Duluth to the rugged coastline of the North Shore where the frozen rivers tumble down the age old hills to the lake. Desolate and stark at times, but achingly beautiful.

I’ll be shutting my mouth this week and letting the photos speak for themselves. Check out more at www.20prospect.tumblr.com

14 thoughts on “Superior Sunrise

  1. When I’m cold I clench my jaw and tighten every muscle in my body like I’m ready to spring into action at any moment.
    Thanks to the icy content of these photos I’ve looked like Henry for the better part of three days.
    Still, the stark photo genius of white on white is thrilling to look at and your cozy fire DOES appear to have a relaxing effect.

  2. I hope you are feeling superior to the rest of us for choosing the road less taken, to head even further north to Lake SUPERIOR when everyone is heading South, there already, or wanting to be there.

    • If I see a couple of little girls playing in the hallway, bearing a striking resemblance to vapid, I’ll let you know.

      Now if you’ll excuse me I have to get back to my writing.

      All work and no play makes Tom a dull boy…

Leave a Reply

