Spring Classic


St. Anthony Falls

Back to Back 50+ days to start the month of April was a pleasant surprise after the March we just had. And if the weatherpersons are to be believed, we will have more of the same for the rest of the week. I hesitate to say it, but winter’s back just might be broken. Our snow is almost gone, with the remaining piles of dirty ice shrinking by the hour.

Of course, there is a downside to the long overdue thaw. Flood reports have now replaced snowstorms as the Weather terrorists weapon of choice. There’s no mistaking that the rivers and creeks are up, as the picture above shows. The Mississippi was roaring over St. Anthony Falls as strong as I have seen it in a long, long time. But spring floods are just part of the natural cycle of things around here, so it’s hard to tell how much of it is worse than normal, and how much is just TV weather hype.

I dusted off the road bike for the first time this season, and got out for rides both days. This year I am vowing to rediscover my passion for cycling, and to get myself back into respectable shape. It’s been 2 years since my Litespeed broke a leg, and had to be put down. And while my 14 year old backup has worked just fine, it just hasn’t been the same. So last week, I finally pulled the trigger and bought a new frameset.

Not just any old store bought bike this time. I searched the nooks and crannies of the eBay attic, and landed a gorgeous, lugged steel frame from a custom frame builder in N.Y.C. It was almost sinful how little I paid for it, but the name has little cache outside of New York, so the bike was passed over like a homely stray at the dog pound.

It’s due to arrive this week, and I cannot wait to get it built up and on the road. It’s a real beauty, and I promise to post plenty of bike p0rn photos of it as soon as it arrives. So forgive my bike geek postings in advance.

And say goodbye to this fat pudgy face. It should be back to the slim chiseled “Coppi-esque” beak it used to be in another thousand miles.

Don’t worry, I’ll spare you all the sight of my bike short muffintop. I may be a blogger, but I still do have some sense of shame.

10 thoughts on “Spring Classic

  1. Great pics, it was a perfect weekend to be outside in MN – well, at least for the beginning of April.

    Just checked the forecast and the best day of the next 7 seems to be Wednesday. Typical.

    SD

    • It was long overdue. In fact, I even managed to get a sun burn at my daughter’s track meet on Saturday. I forgot what that strange glowing orb in the sky could do to such pasty white skin.

  2. Congratulations on finally snapping Winter’s thick, veiny neck!

    And don’t go changin’ that mug of yours all! You know what the most clicked thing from my Sex, Ties and Reconditioning post is? The link to your picture!

  3. Look at you on a bike staying upright!
    I tried for a lap around the block and pulverized what was left of my self esteem when I returned purple faced and wheezing from the exertion.

  4. WOW. Look at the rushing water!

    I can’t wait for you to flash us with your 6 pack! 🙂

    I hope your spring stays. Ours stayed for 5 minutes and left. Didn’t even say goodbye. How rude.

Leave a Reply

