Where have all the good times gone?


April is the cruelest month, breeding

Lilacs out of the dead and, mixing

Memory and desire, stirring

Dull roots with Spring rain.

Winter kept us warm, covering

Earth in forgetful snow, feeding

A little life with dried tubers.

T.S. Eliot – The Wasteland

I bet T.S. didn’t get invited to a lot of parties when he was young. Sheesh, what a downer. Although, I do admit that he was right about the month of April. This weather is torturing us. Just when we think that Spring is here, we get another blast of winter. Now they are calling for snow again tomorrow night. The wind has been snapping at us for days now. Each time I step out into it I can feel my entire body clench up like a fist. I seriously think this is making my ribs sore.

How bad has it gotten? I put the Smiths into the CD player on the drive to work. You know whenever I have an urge to listen to Morrissey that I am in the mood for feeling sorry for myself.

Ugh.

So what do you write about when all you want to do is recount depressing stories of teenage breakups, and afternoons spent laying in a dark room listening to morose music? I’d feel guilty subjecting you to that interwebz.

So here’s a happy song. Come away with the Kinks on a Sunny Afternoon

25 thoughts on “Where have all the good times gone?

  1. You’re a Catholic, you should know that this weather is God’s way of reminding you that it’s still Lent and you should be repenting of your sins. Or something. I think that’s what Lent’s for. That and fish sandwiches.

  2. QUEEN! I have been listening to The Best Of this weekend (since I’ve somehow lost my fav album ever A Night At the Opera…) and Seaside Rendezvous just picks me right up every time.

    You got snow over there too, eh? This is just wrong.

  3. Here one: This always makes me think of cockails in Laguna Beach of a Balmy Friday night.

    And yes it has seemed like a sheet of gause has been wrapped over us for the last 4 years,

    Cheers,

    Jack

  4. I always rush and grab up the wrong Kinks song for the mood. I went awry with Destroyer after I met a girl called Lola and took her back to my place.

    • Sounds like a great plot for the next Kevin Smith movie. “A Lesbian, gets picked up by a transsexual in a bar. Hilarity ensues.”

Leave a Reply

