Holy Thursday Batman!


Is it Easter yet? I am really craving me some Speckled Eggs. Wish that damn bunny would get its butt here with some chocolate. Can men get PMS? Don’t answer that.

When I was in college, and my early 20’s my sure fire fix for depression was a 2 liter bottle of Coke, and a 1lb bag of Peanut M&M’s. I could usually consume both during one sitting. It never failed to perk me up. Only years later did I recognize that this was the exact recipe for Meth.

I was never one of those kids who gave up candy for Lent. In fact, it was one of the three food groups that I would eat as a child. Candy, Pizza, and Apples make a very well rounded diet. I used to grab change out of “the jar” on the kitchen counter, and walk through the vacant lot to Rheinhart’s corner store almost every day.

In retrospect, I don’t know where the change in “the jar” came from. Lord knows I never put any into it. The jar served as my de-facto allowance growing up. If I ever needed money for baseball cards, Bazooka Joe Bubble Gum, or a Charleston Chew it was there for me. It’s no surprise that I ended up with fillings in just about every tooth in my head. The funny thing is that once I turned 20 my love of candy and sweets was replaced with a love of coffee, beer, and salty food.

I’ve never been much good at giving stuff up. I seldom have cravings, until I decide to stop doing something. Then it becomes all I think about. Which is why I can’t diet. The only way I am ever going to lose the 20 pounds I have gained in the last 10 years is if I start burning several thousand calories a day with exercise. And folks, that just ain’t happening.

What also isn’t happening is my book. I’m hovering at 7,000 words, which is about where I was a month ago. It’s not writers block. It’s just lethargy. I need a boot in the ass to get going again. Life isn’t about to slow down to give me more time to work on it so I should stop my whining and get to work instead of writing pointless navel gazing drivel on this blog every day. I mean really, this doesn’t seem to be getting me anywhere now does it?

6 thoughts on “Holy Thursday Batman!

  1. I don’t know why when I tried to think of an inspiring message or a motivational quote the first thing that came to mind was

    Get in my tummy!

    Have you tired just sit down for 10 minutes every day and type down whatever comes into your mind? That was how I finished my dissertation. The first chapter is always the hardest. Once you get over that, the rest seems a bit easier…

  2. My husband ran over the Easter bunny on his scooter. I’m not even kidding.

    Better get to work on the book or he’ll run over your ass too. Now move it!

    (Did that help?)

Leave a Reply

