In the shadow of the news


This has never been a topical blog, unless you consider my teenage misadventures and sexual frustration to be topical. Today will be no different. The interweb is abuzz with the news of global events so I will type away over here in my little corner, and not even try to connect this post to current events.

Yesterday was the “Ironcrotch” bicycle ride that I mentioned a few weeks back. I had signed up to give myself a reason to get out and get into shape this past month. Well, between the weather and some health issues, I never really did get the miles in I had hoped to. All last week I had been watching the weather forecast, as the weather people adjusted the temperature down each day. 60 degrees. 55 degrees. 50 degrees. 48 degrees.

Yesterday morning the temperature was 34 degrees at the start. The wind was gusting to 30 mph. Under low, scudding, gray clouds we set off trying to ride hard enough to get warm, but slow enough to make it the full 60 miles.

We stopped at the halfway point in Osceola to thaw out at a coffee shop, before turning into the wind for the ride back.

Large coffee and Fig Newtons, scientifically formulated for maximum performance.


During the 5 hours we were out on the road the temperature soared to 36 degrees. Hats off to the organizers for keeping us fueled with plenty of cookies, brownies, and bananas at the rest stops they set up along the route.

The last six miles, up hill, and into the headwind were a killer. It wasn’t pretty, but I kept turning the pedals knowing that a warm car was waiting for me. After 5 hours, we made it!

The Number One, signifying my IQ for riding in this weather.

Our reward? A cold beer, in a warm bar.

A beer has never tasted better than this one.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to refill my coffee cup.

15 thoughts on “In the shadow of the news

  1. That is absolute madness.
    I would have made that every article of clothing I wore came with a built in heating system.
    Congrats on your big finish though!

  2. Congratulations! It must have been extra-super-cold when one has an iron crotch!

    I’m seriously impressed, by your ability to not just stay in bed that morning and your wearing of those pants!

    *swoon!*

    • On cold days my high school football coach used to say, “Well boys, today we find out if they’re made out of brass or glass. Were gonna find out if they clang together when you get out of bed in the morning.”

  3. This event has uncanny timing. For the last several years it has made its way through my neigborhood in North Iowa (aka Farmington, MN) on what has been consistantly crappy weather. Nice work. Insane work, but nicely done.

  4. Mazel Tov! I love how color coordinated you are. Even on my best days, fashion escapes me.

    I would like to point out, however, that whoever poured that beer needs a tip on heading off a beverage. One should come away with a frothy mustache, confident that their first sip did not make but a dent in their liquid refreshment. Call it the prologue to your reward.

    • Agreed. It’s hard to find a bar keep in the U.S. that actually knows how to pour a beer properly. Still, I wasn’t in any condition to quibble.

  5. Pingback: Of Wool Jerseys and Iron Crotches « 20 Prospect

Leave a Reply

