Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot…


It’s unnatural to cross the world in a day. Such distance, such diversity, requires a certain separation in time and space. Even my body cries out against it. I have been home for two days now, and still my thoughts buzz like static on a radio, bits and streams of thoughts slipping in and out of the electricity. I try to catch them, and make out what they are saying in their foreign tongues, but it’s no use. Like number stations they are just strings of letters and numbers to a coded message without a key.

Remember to wash the car; Take the kids to school tomorrow; Schedule the planning meeting for September; Check Michelle’s Caring Bridge site; Send out a reminder to the parents about Tuesday’s game; Did we get the money from the league to pay the Umpires?; need to send an email to Steve and get together for lunch; Is the Giro still going on?; Damn, it’s been 3 weeks and I haven’t written a page in the book; I need to take an hour at lunch and catch up with my blog friends; We’re out of coffee at home; Gotta take the dogs out for a walk tonight; What’s the weather supposed to be like this weekend?; Forgot to make reservations for white water rafting next month; When is pole day for the Indy 500?; Stop at Walgreens and pick up your prescription; Need to plug the OPEX numbers into the P&L and see how the F12 plan looks; Set up a date night with Mrs. 20 P., When are those meetings with the siding contractors?; Have got to pack a duffel bag for biking to work one of these days; Wonder if Mrs. 20 Prospect’s work schedule is in my outlook calendar; Need to call Samuel and catch up on things at school; Must enter my teaching schedule for next fall into my calendar; When am I going to find time to write a blog post?

One down.

So many more left to go.

15 thoughts on “Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot…

  1. I don’t see any time carved out to sharpen your spear or can vegetables for the post rapture fight to the death.
    What can you be thinking?

    • I’ve been preparing for the Zombie Apocalypse for sometime. Nothing but canned goods and ammo in my 401K.

      Note to self: Don’t forget can opener.

Leave a Reply

