Welcome to the Jungle


The earth has apparently fallen out of orbit, and is now hurtling toward the sun. How else can we explain the heat wave the whole country is suffering through. Here in the Land of 10,000 Lakes, we aren’t used to such malarial heat. This is Mississippi weather, high 90’s, and dewpoints approaching 80. When I got out of bed this morning it was already 80 degrees, and looking out the window I could see the humidity hanging in the air. I haven’t seen that since the summer I spent in the Kentucky and Alabama.

 

On Friday night, before the worst of the warm front hit, we had a monster thunderstorm drop 5 inches of rain. Now the lakes are filled to the brim, and every low lying area is under water. In this heat and unrelenting sun, the swamps are just fueling the humidity. The air is so thick right now you have to chew it to breath.

 

No thanks. I left Dixie behind, and ran as far north as I could get back in 1992, but after this week, I’m going to start looking at property in Thunder Bay. I hope my Canadian friends don’t mind a little company. I promise I’ll behave, and keep the yard clean of empties.

 

We managed to get outdoors on Saturday, the last day before the earth’s crust began to melt into gooey magma. It was only in the high 80’s, so we loaded the kayak on the car, and headed up to St. Croix Falls, Wisconsin to do some canoeing and kayaking. It was the perfect day to be out on the water. We beached the boats a few times on sand bars, and went for a swim. Even in the middle of July, the waters of the St. Croix were still bracing.

Cleaned a lot of plates in Memphis...

This has become an annual summertime ritual for us. Paddling a 7 mile stretch of river on a sunny summer day. This year, we experiemented by putting the two kids in the 2-person kayak as a team building exercise. That lasted about 100 yards. Let’s just say that Lil’ Miss 20 Prospect and 20 Prospect Jr. tolerate each other as well as any10 & 11 year old siblings do, which is to say not at all. It was great entertainment for Mrs. 20 Prospect and I, and we half considered paddling downstream and leaving them there to figure it out. Maybe next year.

As much as I proclaim the beauty of places like Colorado, and California, I would struggle to leave the upper midwest. It really is gorgeous here, and the diversity of climates within an hours drive of our front door is amazing. Woods, Rivers, Prairies, Lakes, and deep green trackless Forests are there just waiting for us to set down our tools long enough to enjoy them. Someday. Hopefully, someday soon, we can let go of the suburban materialistic world we live in, and kiss corporate America good bye. In another 10 years the kids will both be in college, and we will just have each other, and a plethora of free time to spend outdoors. I hope our health holds out so that we can use those middle years as a time to bike, hike, ski, paddle our way around to our hearts content. The rocking chair on the front porch is always more comfy after a long day in the woods.

7 thoughts on “Welcome to the Jungle

    • It’s days like this that make me thankful I sold my soul in exchange for a nice air conditioned office building in Corporate America. I feel bad for the folks that ply their trade in the great outdoors.

  1. After one of the coldest summers on record last year in Laguna I am here to report the weather here this year is stunningly perfect. Headed to Doheny at 3pm for a little surfing and BBQ after. Having lived in Neb. (Omaha and Neb. City) It sound like to me you are experiencing a perfectly normal Midwestern summer. It is just a slow news period so the big 4 NBC, Fox, etc. have nothing else to report BUT the weather.

    Regards,

    Mr. Hope

Leave a Reply

