Into the hills


We have turned the corner of the seasons. In the past week there can be no mistaking it, it is turning into autumn. Warm days, and cool nights, with hardly a hint of humidity in the air, these are the golden days of September. There may be no finer time to be in Minnesota.

And yet, this season never fails but to make me miserable. Why? Perhaps it’s the melancholy of autumn, or the realization that school has started and the kids are one year older. No, it’s more than that. My melancholy seems to descend right after our week up North in early August. Each year it gets harder and harder to go back to my soulless life of servitude to my Dark Corporate Overlords.

Ever since our vacation ended, it has been a whirlwind. Work has been busy, and I’ve been coaching the 5th & 6th grade girls’ soccer team at Our Lady of the Subdural Hematoma again. I’ve had a blog to keep up, a book to finish, and my part time teaching gig looming in the near future, this is not the time to sink into a funk. Throw in a persistent summer cold, and here I am. Funked.

This past weekend we went to Eau Claire to see the in laws, and I was reminded yet again how much I love Western Wisconsin. There may be no more beautiful place on earth this time of year. The crops are mature, the apples are ripening, and the weather is perfect. I spent most of the weekend with the lovely Isabella Cuevas, riding into the verdant hills of Eau Claire, and Trempealeau Counties, the finest road biking country this side of East Flanders. I fell in love with the place all over again.

Sigh…

I would love to live in a small farmhouse, on a nice piece of land in one of those peaceful valleys. We could ride every day in the warm weather, and put on the skinny skis in the winter time, and never miss the city. I’d sit on the porch in the evenings, and watch the deer, and wild turkeys wander out of the woods to graze in the fields. That is all I really want from life.

Someday.

For now it will have to wait. Another 10 years for the kids to be off to college, and out of the house. Another 10 years of squeezing all the money I can out of this high paying corporate gig. Maybe then we can slip away to the country, while we still have a few years left to enjoy it before age starts to take its toll.

In the mean time, I will have to be content with my day dreams.

And a lottery ticket.

8 thoughts on “Into the hills

  1. September makes me so irritable that today I had to beat back the urge to toss a kitten. I was going to throw it gently from one goose down pillow onto another but still….

  2. Bring in da’ noise, bring in da’ funk. I got it bad, too. Doubled up on the anti-puppy pills today and yesterday. Stupid black dog of September. Scotch and simple carbs help some. Stay golden. We’re all in it together.

    B

Leave a Reply

